dnlocal  

Go Back   dnlocal > General Discussion > General Discussion zone
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2006, 02:26 AM
Lidador's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
iTrader: (3)
Posts: 1,696
Default idn.com free

Yes, check it here: http://www.weblo.com/domain/

How come?

Well, this guys have created a virtual domain system:
http://www.weblo.com/main/index.php?Action=Main.domain

I am just posting this because they have received some media coverage lately (YES, National TV!) and say California has sold for $53,000 USD and Ontario for $16,900.

Questions:
1. If that sales are real, how can people be so dumb?
2. Do they have so many members that justifies this prices?
3. Will Myspace and alikes go this way one day? (My biggest worry)
4. Does scams like this mean any kind of threat to real domain?
5. How much did the chick that went live on CNBC made from it?





__________________
idn.bz <- free automatic idn appraisal
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2006, 04:17 AM
Rubber Duck's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 2,977
Default Re: idn.com free

You just cannot help some people, but I think this very close to being fraud.
__________________
Yours RD.

Sales threads older than 30 days are void unless stated otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2006, 05:56 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 6
Default Re: idn.com free

These sound like the original AOL keywords with a new name. I am not sure how legal it is to call them .com domain names (they seem to call it "Weblo .com domain name"). Verisign and other registeries will no doubt sue them if they get famous.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2006, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 506
Default Re: idn.com free


Well, it's inside a virtual world, I think?

They're obviously aware of TM issues in general, but I think Verisign might just have something to say about it.

__________________
Blame Edwin.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2006, 10:30 AM
Rubber Duck's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 2,977
Default Re: idn.com free

The service might be in a parallel universe, but the marketing is on www, and they are not really making it abundantly clear that this lot won't work on www. From that perspective it is not only TM infringement but fraud, IMO.
__________________
Yours RD.

Sales threads older than 30 days are void unless stated otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2006, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 619
Send a message via MSN to 261275
Default Re: idn.com free

I dont think you can see it in any other way then a scam
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0 ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47