dnlocal  

Go Back   dnlocal > General Discussion > General Discussion zone
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2008, 01:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
iTrader: (2)
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to IDNer
Default dotASIA cheating?!

the dotasia-complot

the dotasia-complot


Lucky Rich ... or how to cheat the .asia-community


under shady circumstances some camouflaged companies owned by tycoon "Lucky Rich" Richard Schreier, CEO of dotasia-auctioneer pool.com, caught many top-domains in .asia-auctions:

Read the whole amazing story about .asia auctions and a lot of top domains caught by bidding parties, which are owned by "Lucky Rich" Richard Schreier, the CEO of dotasia-auctioneer pool.com.

.
Read the whole amazing story about .asia auctions and a lot of top domains caught by bidding parties, which are owned by "Lucky Rich" Richard Schreier, the CEO of dotasia-auctioneer pool.com.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2008, 01:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
iTrader: (2)
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to IDNer
Default

the dotasia-complot

the dotasia-complot

fortune made by Lucky Rich

the amazing story about .asia auctions and a lot of top domains caught by bidding parties, which are owned by "Lucky Rich" Richard Schreier, the CEO of dotasia-auctioneer pool.com.

June 2007: DotAsia announced Sunrise of .asia Domains.
July 2007: DotAsia announced the agreement with Pool.com, a Canadian company, to be the Auction Partner for auctions arising from the .Asia Sunrise and Landrush processes.
October 2007: Sunrise Period - Name Registration starts for Trademark Holders. If there is more than one Trademark Holder, there will be an auction between the applicants.
January 2008: Auctions for these Sunrise Applications get started
February / March 2008: We found out the relationship between auctioneer pool.com and bidding party Drake Ventures Ltd.: Drake is owned by Drake Domains Corporation (Barbados) and the owner of drakedomainscorp.com is Richard Schreiber, CEO of auctioneer pool.com.
April 2008: We informed dotasia (PDF document 2MB). We received several non-committal mails from Edmon Chung, CEO of dotasia. The most remarkable sentence from Mr. Chung: "Being a party related to a bidding party, in my understanding, does not automatically create any issue."
May 2008: We informed dotasia, that Throne Ventures Pty Ltd. is also involved in this complot. Throne is owned by Drake and both have won several auctions with a lot of topdomains until today .
What we see:

  • Bidding parties owned by the CEO of the auctioneer seems to be no problem for dotasia.
  • Grabbing a lot of top-domains by the CEO of the auctioneer seems to be no problem for dotasia.
  • The probable cause that the auctioneer and its CEO knows and exploits the maximum bids of all competitors seems to be no problem for dotasia.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2008, 05:00 AM
Rubber Duck's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 2,745
Default

They might have been worth millions of dollars on paper. Now, I doubt they are worth the paper they are written on!
__________________
Yours RD.

Sales threads older than 30 days are void unless stated otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2008, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
iTrader: (2)
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to IDNer
Default

Quote:
Date: May 14, 2008
Re: Special Advisory on Allegations About DotAsia (and Pool.com)

Dear Friends of DotAsia,

We have received information that a disgruntled .Asia customer has recently been propagating allegations about inappropriate behaviour by DotAsia (and Pool.com) in the management of the auction process for the .Asia Sunrise. We have and will continue to try to reach out to them
regarding their issues and to attempt to turn a disgruntled customer around.

We are issuing this special advisory to reassure you that DotAsia is committed to upholding the integrity of the registry and is confident that our processes, including those with our service providers do not compromise our commitments. At this point, there is no evidence from our
investigation suggesting that bidders have been advantaged or disadvantaged due to their relationship or non-relationship with Pool.com our auction services provider. We have also posted a special advisory regarding Auction Tampering on our website earlier in March:
http://www.registry.asia/policies/Do...2008-03-24.pdf.

All .Asia Sunrise (SR2) applications are reviewed and verified by our Verification agents including Deloitte and AGIP. This further ensures the integrity of our process. This also explains that not all applied for domains will be accepted and not all accepted applications will go to auction. In fact, only a very small percentage of the received applications went through the auction process.

Furthermore, as in fact can be shown from response emails posted on the website making the allegations, DotAsia have been working hard to try our best to address the issues raised. Therefore, the characterisation of our non-action, in our opinion, is ungrounded.

Nevertheless, please feel free to contact me directly should you have any further questions. DotAsia appreciates everyone’s understanding regarding the matter and will continue to exert our best efforts to work with all .Asia customers to provide them with the best support possible.


Sincerely,
Edmon Chung
Chief Executive Officer
DotAsia Organisation
http://registry.asia/policies/DotAsi...2008-05-14.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-20-2008, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: China / Hong Kong
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 41
Send a message via Yahoo to Asiaplay
Thumbs down

Just thought I should post on this thread again to warn members - as I now have a personal experience which suggests this is all true.
Note: I was awarded a couple of domains without contest - the other few went to auction (and I was invited for auctions for a couple of domains - which I watched on a daily basis).

As everyone knows, I signed up for a handful of .asia domains and some of these ended up going to / went to auction.
The strange thing is that "sex.asia" which I pre-registered (more out of interest to watch the live auction, than to win it), I was NOT EVEN INVITED to the auction for.
Also, the date suggested for the auction (one anticipated auction date for this domain) was suddenly rushed forward by a month - to my surprise the auction was over a month before it was supposed to even happen!

So this makes me wonder was there even an auction - even though this is supposed to be the highest price auction held by .asia so far!!!

Basically this tells me there was either no "real" auction for sex.asia domain or the auction was controlled and done outside the rules that were presented.
I contacted the auditors of the pre-registration process on this issue and they told me they are not the auditors for the domain auction process (so they are unable to assist).

This begs the question of who is auditing the domain auctions for .asia - so far as I can see they are not being audited and the .asia auction process is one big scam!
Needless to say, I am not bidding on any auctions at all now (as with the bidders hidden, I suspect strongly that any competing bids are fake as well).

So yes, ask yourselves very carefully if ever investing in the 2nd hand market for .asia - are you investing based on false inflated information.

Just thought I should raise this issue, so members here are aware of deep and severe problems which exist for .asia registrar (and the level of trust any domain owner should have in dealing with them or their domains).

Cheers and all the best, Asiaplay

Last edited by Asiaplay : 06-20-2008 at 03:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0 ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47